If you run a clinic, hotel, villa, real-estate agency or coaching centre in India and your customers already write to you on WhatsApp, you will meet both kinds of tools soon: an inbox-and-broadcast platform like Wati, and an AI sales assistant with a CRM like bananaleaf.ai. This page compares them on facts we could check. bananaleaf.ai wrote this comparison, so read it with that in mind; every Wati cell below cites Wati's own page, which we opened on 25 October 2026.
What do the two products actually do?
Wati describes a shared team inbox, a no-code chatbot builder, broadcasts with audience segmentation, a built-in WhatsApp CRM with a visual sales pipeline, and more than 100 integrations including Salesforce, HubSpot and Shopify.3 It also lists Astra AI agents that qualify leads and handle support, plus payments inside WhatsApp conversations.3
bananaleaf.ai runs an AI assistant on your own WhatsApp number that answers from your documents, offerings and approved answers, moves leads along a pipeline you define, and can book appointments. Your team sees the same conversations in a shared inbox and can take a chat over at any time. Which assistant features you get is decided by your plan.
Side-by-side: plans, AI, CRM and bookings
| What you get | bananaleaf.ai | Wati |
|---|---|---|
| Public plan prices | Not listed publicly; the plan is set per organisation after a call | Growth $59/month and Pro $119/month, billed annually; Business is custom1 |
| Currency shown | Set in your quote | Dollar sign shown; the page does not name the currency1 |
| Users included | Set per plan | Growth 3, Pro 5 (extra users $39 each), Business 5 (extra users $89 each)1 |
| AI agent | The assistant answers on your number; it is a plan feature that the bananaleaf.ai team switches on for your account | Not on Growth; a separately priced add-on on Pro1 |
| Standalone AI-agent pricing | Part of the plan | Astra: Free, Pro $99/month, Business $399/month on its own page, with credits for each reply2 |
| CRM and pipeline | A pipeline with stages you define, owners, notes and follow-up reminders | A built-in WhatsApp CRM with a visual sales pipeline3 |
| Booking appointments | Built-in booking calendar the assistant can book into | Not listed in Wati's platform overview (checked 25 Oct 2026)3 |
| Quotes and invoices on WhatsApp | Quotation and invoice PDFs sent from the contact page | Payments inside WhatsApp conversations are listed; quotes and invoices are not3 |
| Integrations | Fewer; built around its own CRM | More than 100, including Salesforce, HubSpot, Shopify, Zapier and Klaviyo3 |
| WhatsApp message charges | Drawn from a prepaid WhatsApp balance | Extra on every plan, "based on WATI rate card"1 |
| Free trial | Book a call | 7-day free trial, no setup fee1 |
How are WhatsApp messages billed?
Meta sets the base price for every WhatsApp Business Platform message, and tools add their own billing on top. Meta's pricing page says each business number gets 1,000 free service messages a month from 1 October 2026; after that, service messages are charged.5 Wati's help centre says the same change applies to its customers and that the rate matches the utility template rate in your market.4
For click-to-WhatsApp ads, Meta says the free window after a reply "may remain open for up to 7 days", though Meta Business Agent messages are still charged in it.5 Wati's help centre dates the 7-day window to 28 September 2026.4 Meta's page itself gives no start date.5
Wati's pricing page does not state whether it adds a markup to Meta's rates.1 If you compare vendors, ask each one for the rupee price of a marketing and a utility message to an Indian number. For reference, the July 2026 Meta card used on this site (card date 1 July 2026) lists ₹0.1150 for a utility message and ₹0.8631 for a marketing message in India. Meta updated some rates on 1 October 2026, so treat these as a guide only.5
A worked example: a dental clinic with 600 monthly enquiries
Take a clinic that gets 600 new WhatsApp enquiries a month, mostly from ads, and wants every one answered in seconds, booked, and reminded.
| Step | What the clinic needs | What to check with each vendor |
|---|---|---|
| 1. First reply | An answer within seconds, day and night | Is the AI agent in the quoted plan, or an add-on? (Wati: add-on on Pro.)1 |
| 2. Questions about prices | Answers taken from the clinic's own price list | Does the assistant use your documents, or generic replies? |
| 3. Booking | A slot confirmed in the chat | Is booking built in, or done through an integration? |
| 4. Reminders | A reminder the day before | These are template messages, so Meta's per-message charge applies |
| 5. Follow-up | Moving each lead to the right stage | Is there a pipeline, and who owns the lead? |
For the reminders alone, 400 utility messages in a month would cost ₹46.0000 at the July card's Meta rate, before any vendor markup. Replies inside the 24-hour window count as service messages, and the first 1,000 a month per number are free.5 The plan fee, the AI agent and any markup are what really differ between vendors, so those are the lines to put side by side.
Who should choose which?
Choose Wati if:
- You want a published price you can budget from today, and a free trial before you talk to anyone.1
- You already run Salesforce, HubSpot, Shopify or Zapier and want WhatsApp to plug into them.3
- Your main need is broadcasts, a team inbox and a no-code chatbot, and you are happy to add AI later.3
Choose bananaleaf.ai if:
- You want an assistant that answers from your own documents, prices and approved answers, then books the appointment and moves the lead along the pipeline.
- You sell by quote, such as a villa stay, a treatment plan or a property, and want quotes and invoices sent from the same contact page.
- You want one team to set up the assistant, the pipeline and the booking calendar for you.
If you need to compare something we did not list, such as voice agents, white-labelling or regional-language voice, Wati's Astra Business plan lists several of these, and they are not part of what we compare here.2
What bananaleaf.ai does here
bananaleaf.ai runs on your own WhatsApp number. The assistant answers from the documents and price sheet you upload, hands tricky chats to your team, and records each lead's stage. You can rehearse it in a test conversation before real customers see it. The assistant is switched on per account by the bananaleaf.ai team as part of the plan, which is why there is no self-serve price on this page.
What to do this week
- Write down your volume: new enquiries per month, reminders per month, and how many people reply.
- Ask both vendors for one total that includes the platform fee, the AI agent and an estimated message bill.
- Ask for the per-message price in rupees for a marketing and a utility message to an Indian number.
- Test with real questions: send each tool your five most common enquiries and see what it answers.
- Check booking and follow-up: confirm how an appointment is made and who is reminded.
- Check consent: confirm that opt-outs are recorded and respected. Our DPDP guide lists what to ask.
- Re-check prices before signing. Neither vendor's page shows a date, so ask for the quote in writing.
Questions people ask
Is bananaleaf.ai cheaper than Wati?
We cannot say from public pages. Wati publishes plan prices; bananaleaf.ai sets its plan per organisation after a call, so there is no public price to compare. Ask both for a quote that includes the AI agent and your expected message volume.
Does Wati charge extra for WhatsApp messages?
Yes. Wati's pricing page says additional charges apply for messages, based on its own rate card, and does not state a markup over Meta's rates on that page.
Can I use Wati's AI agent on the cheapest plan?
Not according to Wati's pricing page: the Growth plan does not include Astra AI agents, and on the Pro plan they are a separately priced add-on.
Which is better for a clinic that wants appointments booked on WhatsApp?
It depends on how you work. bananaleaf.ai has a built-in booking calendar the assistant can book into. Wati's platform overview does not mention bookings, so ask Wati how they handle it before you decide.
Sources
Every numbered link in the article points to one of these. Dates are when the source was published or last updated.
- 1Wati — pricing page (opened 25 Oct 2026, page shows no update date) wati.io · back to text ↑
- 2Wati — Astra AI agents pricing page (opened 25 Oct 2026, page shows no update date) wati.io · back to text ↑
- 3Wati help centre — platform overview, features, channels and integrations (last updated 17 Aug 2026) support.wati.io · back to text ↑
- 4Wati help centre — WhatsApp API pricing changes: service messages and click-to-message ads (shown as 'Updated this week' on 25 Oct 2026) support.wati.io · back to text ↑
- 5Meta — WhatsApp Business Platform pricing (reflects updates effective 1 Oct 2026) developers.facebook.com · back to text ↑